OPM Jukebox Hits – Original Artists

Songs – Artists

  • 01 Rain – Boy Mondragon
  • 02 Bakit Ako Mahihiya – Didith Reyes
  • 03 Mr. Lonely – Victor Woods
  • 04 My Pledge of Love – Edgar Mortiz
  • 05 Sixteen – Vilma Santos
  • 06 Mardy – Eddie Peregrina
  • 07 Forbidden – Norma Ledesma
  • 08 I Am A Soldier – Lew Soratorio
  • 09 You Don’t Own Me – Jeanne Young
  • 10 Dearest One – Lord Soriano
  • 11 Mother Of Mine – Florence Aguilar
  • 12 Faithful Love (Instrumental) – Cezar Manalili on Guitar
  • 13 Baleleng – Max Surban
  • 14 I’m Sorry – Neddie Decena
  • 15 Love Me Now And Forever – Romeo Miranda
  • 16 Pangako – Flippers
  • 17 Kawawang , Cowboy – Fred Panopio
  • 18 Butsekik – Yoyoy Villame (Amazon)

Wilear’s Top Company in Philippine Awards – The third annual presentation of the Awit Awards was held at the Manila Hotel with Senator Doy Laurel of the Philippine Congress as guest of honor and principal speaker. The sponsoring group was the Philippine Academy of Recording Arts and Sciences (PARAS). The event criticized in the local circle because of its unpopular results and deglamourized presentation, gave posthumous awards of merit to Frankie Martin, a juror last year, and Santiago Suarez, one of Filipino musical stalwarts. The founder of the Awit Awards, Billboard correspondent Oskar Salazar, was also honored. Wilear’s Records scored heavily in the awards this year. The foreign division was permanently scrapped. Two major companies, Villar Records and Dyna Products, Inc. did not submit nominations this year. The 1970 winners are: Female Singer (English) – Nora Aunor (Alpha); Male Singer (English) – Eddie Mesa (Grandeur); Female Singer (Vernacular) – Amapola (Lapulapu); Male Singer (Vernacular) – Armando Ramos (Wilear’s). Most Promising Female Singer – Eva Vivar (Alpha); Most Promising Male Singer (tie) – Boy Mondragon (Vicor) and Jonathan Potenciano (D’Swan); Record Company of the Year – Wilear’s Records; Song of the Year – “Forever Loving You” by Bert Dominic (Billboard); Best Single – “Sixteen” by Vilma Santos (Wilear’s); Vocal Group (Vernacular) – D’Big 3 Sullivans (Vicor); Vocal Group (English) – Reycard Duet (Alpha); Instrumental Recording – “Philippine Rondalla” by the Philippine Rondalla (Wilear’s); Original Movie Music Theme – Soundtrack of “Wanted: Perfect Mother” by Danny Subido (Neon); Special Recording – “Philippine Rondalla” (Wilear’s); Instrumental – Eric Dimson (Vicor); Instrumental Group – Pandacan Original Brass Band (Wilear’s); Musical Arranger – Doming Amarillo; Lyricist (Vernacular) – Philip Maninang; Lyricist (English) – Danny Subido; Composer (English) – Robert Dominic; Album Liner Notes (LP & Mini) – “Baby Vi” (Wilear’s); Album Cover (LP) – “I’m Sorry My Love” (Vicor); Mini-Album – “Something Stupid” by Vilma Santos and Edgar Mortiz (Wilear’s); Album – “Phenomenal Nora Aunor” by Nora Aunor (Alpha). Other Awardees (receiving plaques): Best Recording Studio – Cinema-Audio, Inc.; Best Recording Engineers – Ric Santos (Cinema-Audio, Inc.) and Best Pressing Plant – Home Industries Dev. Corp. Given citations for their support were Tower Productions, stations DZTM and DZTR and Gloria Sevilla, a film producer. – Billboard Magazine, International News Reports, 14 August 1971 (READ MORE)