This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Vilma Santos STAR awards for Movies Recognitions

 18 nominations with six wins, one lifetime achievement award, one darling of the press award

Highlights:   In 1985, the Philippine Movie Press Club initiated the Star Awards for Movies and Television, which is currently the Philippines’ Golden Globes’ counterpart. The very first recipient of Star best actress was Nora Aunor for Merika while Vilma’s movie Sister Stella L. received the movie of the year award.   Vilma Santos was nominated for Palimos Ng Pag-ibig in 1986 but failed to win the best actress. Unfaithful Wife was judged the STAR best picture of this year.  The next year, Vilma’s film, Saan nagtatago ang pag-ibig was proclaimed the movie of the year. Vilma received a best actress nomination for her FAMAS winning film, Tagos Ng Dugo.  The fifth year, Vilma was nominated again, this time for Ibulong Mo Sa Diyos. 

PMPC finally gave the trophy to Vilma in 1989 Star Awards. Vilma’s Pahiram Ng Isang Umaga four major awards: actress of the year for Vilma, supporting actor for Eric Quizon, director of the year for Ishmael Bernal, and Movie of the year for Regal films. Pahiram also won technical awards for cinematography, musical score, and production design.  The following year, Snooky Serna won the supporting actress for Vilma’s “Hahamakin Ang Lahat.”  Vilma was nominated for Hahamakin but the Star went to Nora Aunor for Andrea paano ba ang maging isang ina.  Despite the lost, Vilma received a very special award from the PMPC, the “Darling of the Press” award. The next year, 1991, Nora Aunor again received the Star Award Actress of the Year for Ang totoong buhay ni Pacita M. Vilma was nominated for Ipagpatawad Mo. In 1992, Vilma was nominated again, for Sinungaling Mong Puso that Lorna Tolentino won for Narito ang puso ko.  After winning her first Star Award in 1989 and nominated three consecutive years, Vilma finally win her second Star in 1993 for Dahil mahal kita: Dolzura Cortez Story. The next year, Vilma was nominated for Nagiisang Bituin but Dawn Zulueta took home the trophy for Buhay ng buhay ko.

In 1995, Nora Aunor was the big winner again with her film, Flor Contemplacion Story.  1996 was Sharon‘s grand slam year. She won the Star for Madrasta with co-star, Christopher De Leon taking the actor of the year.   In 1997, Zsa Zsa Padilla defeated Nora, Vilma, Marecel and Sharon for actress of the year for Batang PX. Vilma was nominated for Hanggang Ngayon Ika’y Minamahal.  Vilma was the big winner in ’98 for her film, Bata bata paano ka ginawa. She won actress of the year while co-star Serena Dalrymple won the supporting actress. Elizabeth Oropesa followed Vilma’s win the following year via Bulaklak ng Maynila.   The new millennium brings another Star to Vilma as she claimed her fifth actress of the year for her film, Anak. The next year the Tuhog was the top film while Snooky Serna won the actress of the year for Habang kapiling ka.   Vilma won her sixth actress of the year from Star in 2002 for the film, Dekada ’70. She will win her seventh Star again in 2004 for Mano po III: My love in 2004.   The next three years, Judy Ann Santos (Kasal, kasali, kasalo – 2006); Ai-Ai de las Alas (Ang cute ng ina mo! – 2007) and Sharon Cuneta (Caregiver – 2008) received the Star actress of the year.   Vilma Santos received the lifetime achievement award in the 2008 Star Awards while Nora Aunor’s film Himala was given a special citation award.  By 2010, Vilma received her 18th best actress nominations and won for her 2009 film, In My Life. – RV

Vilma Santos’ STAR for TV RecognitionIn the 1980’s, Nora Aunor’s Superstar show was losing viewership and her box-office appeal was also in question. Suddenly, the 70’s superstar was being eclipsed by a non-singer but an excellent dancer and versatile actress Vilma Santos. She has just scored her first of four grand slams for the movie Relasyon and continued to reign as the Longest Box-office Queen of Philippine Cinema. And slowly but surely, her VIP (Vilma In Person) TV show was gaining patronage/high ratings too from the precious class ABC households nationwide, TV advertisers’ prime target audience for their products.   There was no stopping Vilma Santos. She was about to conquer the TV musical-variety genre where Nora Aunor ruled for years. Early on, Vilma Santos had rough sailings with her musical variety show. VIP was being broadcast from Channel 2 which had a bad reception among TV homes nationwide, and was no match to the more modern RPN Channel 9 where Nora’s Superstar show was simultaneously shown from Luzon to Mindanao in vivid, crisp color. When VIP moved to GMA Channel 7, it was the best move that Vilma’s think tank ever did. With better satellites, shrewd marketing, state of the art facilities, and more ambitious production numbers and with the Dancing Queen Vilma at the center of it all, and with the genius of Maribeth Bichara’s choreography and musical concepts written all over the show – “Vilma!” became the most watched and the most awarded (SEE LIST BELOW) TV show in the musical/variety category.. (READ MORE).

  • 1987 – Best Musical Variety Show Host
  • 1988 – Best Musical Variety Show Host
  • 1988 – Best Musical Variety Show
  • 1989 – Best Musical Variety Show
  • 1990 – Best Musical Variety Show
  • 1991 – Best Musical Variety Show
  • 1992 – Best Musical Variety Show
  • 1994 – Best Musical Variety Show
  • 1998 – Ading Fernando Lifetime Achievement Award
  • 2006 – Best Actress in a Single TV Performance – MMK: Regalo

Related Readings:
26th PMPC Star Awards (2010) Winners: John Lloyd Cruz, Vilma Santos etc
Gov. Vilma Santos-Recto to receive Ulirang Artista award from PMPC
ighlights and sidelights of 25th Star Awards for Movies
Governor Vilma Santos inducts new officers of PMPC
PMPC Star Awards for TV 2006 Winners
STAR for TV RECOGNITIONS (and other TV awards)